My favorite cereal

Over the weekend, my wife and daughter went shopping and brought me back a treat — Count Chocula cereal! Mmmmm. Sugar crack!

Actually, I’m pretty sure it was my daughter’s idea. She’s excited to be a vampire for Halloween this year. In fact, she wants my wife and I to be vampires as well. A vampire family. Which kind of puts a kink in my plans.

See, I was going to be “Cornelius” from Fight Club, which is one of the phony names that the Edward Norton characters uses when he goes “touristing” in self-help groups.

My plan was to wear khakis and a dress shirt and tie. Then use make-up to mess up my face, you know, like I’d been in a fight or whatever. And slap on one of those Hello! My name is __________ nametag stickers that they give you at any kind of lame function, especially in corporate cubeland. When people asked me what I was supposed to be I was going to say, “I’m a member of a club, but I’m not supposed to talk about it.” And then I ‘d see who gets it, i.e. who is cool, and who does not, i.e. who is not cool.

Of course, I’ll probably just end up doing the vampire thing, which is cool.

Anyhoo… my original point was that Count Chocula is not may favorite cereal, although I have been eating it and getting the jitters from the all the freaking sugar. Oh baby — sugargasm! Addy doesn’t really like it, she just likes to pick out the little marsh mellows, which is fine by me. I’d rather she didn’t eat that crap anyway.

My favorite cereal has to be Lucky Charms.

It’s is similar to Count Chocula, but without all the chocolate. Too much of a good thing, you know.

Actually, of the monster cereals I’m probably more partial to Frankenberry:

And Boo Berry:

However, it has been so long since I’ve had Fruit Brute that I’d need to do another taste test to confirm the precise order of my preference:

But back to Lucky Charms. I’ve long wondered what were the original marsh mellow shapes. I’d always intended to write General Mills to ask, but of course never did. Too much work. This was before the internet, google or wikipedia, which of course makes it easy to check. So why haven’t I until now? It boggles the mind.

According to wikipedia the original marsh mellows were “in the shapes of pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers.” Now I can sleep at night.

And if you think that is a lot to write about cereal, check out the book Ceralizing America, which is actually quite fascinating.

Of course, you can’t really talk about cereal without talking about Saturday morning cartoons, at least not if you’re a GenXer, which I am. Duh! You know, I’ve often thought that would make a subtitle to the label Generation X: the cereal and Saturday morning cartoon generation. What do you think?

What’s your favorite cereal?

5 responses to “My favorite cereal

  1. Cereal is an extremely important part of my lexicon. I have taught my hubsy and child to appreciate the finer points of cereal consumption, as evidenced by our ability to distinguish between “entree cereal” and “desert cereal”.

    Favorite entree cereal? Raisin Bran, Grape Nuts, Shredded Wheat (something about the biscuit is so appealing..)

    Favorite desert cereal: Honeycomb, Corn Pops, Lucky Charms…Cocoa Pebbles are a step above the rest, but can be too chocolately if used too often.

    I took pictures the first time I gave my daughter cereal for breakfast and a book to read while eating it. That is a seriously important moment in a girl’s life.

  2. That is an interesting distinction, between entree cereal and desert cereal. Makes complete sense.

    And there may be inbetween cereals. Such as Honey Nut Cherrios. Couldn’t they be both? Or are the more of desert cereal. Anyway, that was Addy’s breakfast this morning, with sliced bananas, while she and I read the captions to New Yorker cartoons.

    Of course, Addy’s first cereal was plain Cheerios. That seems pretty much standard.

    Would love to see those pics.

  3. Have you submitted your blog to google search engine? I don’t pull up your posts when i search blogs about Generation X. I would like to have linked to this. My brother was all about his Frankenberry. I liked Boo Berry – the third to be added – kind of like me – the last sibling of four. Ha! I loved Lucky Charms. I do think I remember the “blue diamond” being added.

    I liked Crunch Berries.

    But, if you are a very observant GenXer, you will remember Do-nutz. They were Do-licious. LOL!

  4. I have not submitted my blog to google search engine. Don’t know how? Is it a simple process?

    And yes, Crunch Berries were awesome. We would separate all the berry bits until we had a full bowl and eat just those.

    I do remember Do-nutz, too.

  5. Pingback: The forgotten Monster Cereal « junkdrawer67

Leave a Reply

