The Mellinnials are coming! The Mellinnials are coming!

As Mellinnials enter the workforce and Boomer’s refuse to leave it Gen Xers will be squeezed from both ends, but then that seems to be our lot in life. What are you going to do, eh?

When I first read Jeff Gordinier’s book, X Saves the World, of course I was amused by his tongue-in-cheek poke at the younger generation…

“…the mellinnials, Gen Y, whose bloggy, bling-blingy birdsong of me-me-me sounds, to your beaten eardrums, a little bit like this:

Oh my God LindsayBritneyJessicaParis OMG OMG OMG OMG my boss Mr. Boring totally sucks because he told me he wouldn’t promote me after THREE MONTHS but screw him because OMG Nick + Jessica R breaking up OMG I totally need that new Fendi purse OMG did you see that episode of LagunaBeachProjectRunwayAmericanIdol SO SO AMAZING anyway I don’t care about Mr. Boring I’m gonna be CEO of Google by the time I’m 25.

…but I wasn’t nearly as inclined to bothered by the younger generation as I am by the Boomer, whose capacity to annoy seems endless. Lately, though, I’ve been coming into contact with information that is causing me to rethink my position.

For example: This blog post by a young Mellinnial cohort who is about “complete his university career” and move into the “real world” (not the MTV show, but the, you know the work place or whatever.

Initially I was irritated by this kid’s notion that his time in college was somehow a career. I got news for you kiddo, it wasn’t. Not even close. It was and education. It was supposed to be anyway. That’s it and that’ all. And isn’t that enough. But of course there was more.

Such as that fact that the dude’s blog is called “The Personal Branding” blog. I fucking hate this shit — the way Mellinnials (and they are not the only ones but it seems pervasive amongst their ilk) seem obsessed with marketing themselves, as if they were a fucking product. You are not a brand, pally. You are not a product. You’re just some punk kid with a degree and little, if any, experience so be prepared to start at the bottom and bust your ass to move up over time — and by over time I don’t mean to expect your first promotion in, like, 3 fucking months.

The blogger, name o’ David, seems to think moving back home with one’s parents is somehow unique to his generation. Wrong! Gen Xer’s practically invented boomeranging. Not that most of us wanted to. Economic conditions forced many an Xer to take up residence in their childhood bedroom or, if that room had been transformed into, oh, a den or music room or sewing room or office or whatever, into the basement or the room above the garage if you were lucky and if you were not lucky, well, the garage itself. I moved back home for a time and then moved out again. Gen Y didn’t invent this David. You might want to write that down. That’s all I’m saying.

Also, contrary to popular profiling, all Gen Xer’s do not hate their parents. I certainly do not hate mine. Perhaps thats because they are from the silent generation and not the self-centered, self-aggrandizing, solipsistic Boomer generation.

David goes on to opine:

“I don’t care about a huge salary, I want to make sure I’m happy.”
Maybe it’s just my youthful naivete, but I am intent on working for my sanity and fulfillment rather than for being a mercenary for a fat paycheque. From what I’ve seen, this is a concept that is rare among the Boomers and Gen X’ers that I know. Discussions with my millennial friends echo my thoughts on this. Gen Y believes that money follows happiness, not the other way around. I suppose time will tell.

How idealistic of you David. You must feel so pleased with yourself, not to mention morally superior to us Gen Xers, who waste our lives amassing wealth beyond belief. Yeah, right. Of course, it is easy to buy into such a concept when one is planning on living at home with one’s parents so as not to overburden one’s bank account. I don’t know the Mellinnials that you’ve been talking to ( but I’m guessing like your roommate and his girlfriend and maybe two or three other of your peeps) nor am I familiar with your research into the earning habits of Gen Xers but I’m going to go ahead and guess that it isn’t very significant. In any case, my own personal experience, which I’m guessing surpasses your own by a wee bit, plus my discussions with and observations of my Gen X brothers and sisters over the past decade or so suggest that your assertion is as you suspect naive, not to mention asinine.

It is worth noting that David fails to define “huge salary.” One would be interested in the number he quotes now and, say, a few years after he actually moves out from under Mommy’s apron and actually has to pays his own way.

But David is optimistic:

Apparently, it’s common for graduates to think that they will soon take over the world. Then, the weight of said world crushes them and they sober to the cold reality of life.

We’ll see. I’m still pretty optimistic after some grim X’er conversations. I think I’ll be a little more upbeat when a Gen Z’er comes along and asks me out for a cup of coffee.

Wow. What an amazing realization you’ve come to. Kudos to you, David. Kudos to you! And good luck paying the bills with that whole look on the sunny side of life.

Yeah. I know. I’m just some bitter, cranky, aging Gen Xer’s whose pissed that the world is passing me by. That may be so, but that doesn’t mean I, and the Gen Xer’s you been so kind to talk with David, don’t have anything to teach you. You might well remember that as your begin the amazing journey that is your life in the real world. Oh, gosh. I think I’m going to cry.


3 responses to “The Mellinnials are coming! The Mellinnials are coming!

  1. I work with Mellinnials and some can be a bit arrogant. But then what was I like back then? I think I remember looking at ‘experienced’ people who were given respect because they were older, and resented not being given a chance to prove myself. There will always be tension between generations and the divide is probably growing as the stresses of living increase. I have often felt though that some of the Millenials see their first job out of Uni/college as some kind of reality TV program, and have witnessed them playing really dirty tricks in the name of advancing their own agendas. It is a little tragic and nasty for all concerned.

  2. I work with a Mellinnial but it is in a library in a very small dept., and I suppose the fact that it is not corporate removes a lot of these issues from the dynamic. So I admit that anything I pontificate about is at least second hand. Having said that when I am made privy of such circumstances I listen careful, probe and try not to make any knee-jerk assumptions. Having said that, I like to rant. So.

    Now that I think about it I have never really had a fraught relationship with a Boomer boss. In fact, I’ve never really had a Boomer boss. Worse boss I ever had was a Gen Xer but one of the company-loving cogs that just makes your skin crawl. Anyway, she was even younger than I was, but I had no problem with the dynamic. I never really have with bosses. They are the boss and I am not. But that could be because I’ve never really wanted to be the boss. Ever.

    I agree that there will always be tensions between workers of different generations, but the same can be said of worker of different races and genders and anything else you can think of.

    I would never want anyone, Mellinnial or otherwise to be denied opportunity to prove themselves and advance. I don’t give give a crap about that sort of thing for myself, but it is the point for most others. That’s cool. But this notion, that I think too many Mellinnials may be entering the workforce with, of climbing the ladder without “paying dues” is going to become an increasing problem.

    Boomer were firmly entrenched when Gen X started entering the work place and many show little interest of moving on. The truth is they may have to be forced out, which is all to the good as far as I am concerned. However, it could very well be that in our youth-obsessed culture Mellinnials may often leapfrog over Gen Xers, causing some degree of resentment, not to mention these young movers and shakes may not yet be prepared. This may make me sound like an old fogey but it seems that too many of them have had it too easy. Whereas Gen X has paid its dues and then some. We’re battle worn and thus prepared in a way that one could argue that too many Mellinnials are not.

    I just think many of these newbies could use a little mentoring with a Doctor Cox like figure. You know, someone who toughens them up, teaches them with a spoonful of sugar in a handful of dirt sort of way. The problem is that I don’t see the Melllinnials wanting anything to do with that. They’ve been babied all their lives and tough love will only make them pout or whine, and probably both, until they get what they want.

    Anyhoo…we’ll see how it pans out.

  3. Pingback: BR2394 Rosso

Leave a Reply

