In Memory: Sydney Pollack (1934-2008)

Listening to a rerun of an interview with Pollack by Terry Gross. I never usually get to worked up about celebrity deaths, but this was one was a real bummer. Pollack, I guess because he’d been around so long, just seemed like he’d alwasys be around, as ridiculous as that sounds. It’s funny, for a long time I wouldn’t have recognized him on sight, although his name was long familiar to me. I like movies, a lot, but I’m not movie guru or critic or anything like that. And I’m sure a lot of people far more qualified an knowledgeable than I have much more insightful things to say about Mr. Pollack. So I thought that I’d just list some of my favorite movies of his. Of course, he was an actor before he ever directed anything, and was also a producer, so I’ll begin with movie he directed and, if time allows, I’ll add more. In no particular order of prefrence:

DIRCTED:

The Swimmer, based on the John Cheever short story,for which Pollack is, according to IMDB, uncredited as directory. I’ve seen this movie once, and that was years ago, probably with my college friend, and fellow movie enthusiast, Mike.

Jeremiah Johnson, staring Robert Redford.

The Way We Were

Three Days of the Condor

Tootsie

Out of Africa

Havana, a movie that I always use as the archtype for what is romantic to men, in contrast to what is romantic to women.

These movies alone would constitue a hell of a career, but of course there was more, much more.

 

2 responses to “In Memory: Sydney Pollack (1934-2008)

  1. Hmmm… I remember Havana. Liked it. But I think my wife might like it as well.

    But if SHE likes the movie, and if she thinks it’s “romantic,” does that make her a man and, ergo, make me gay? 😉

  2. Well, duh. Wasn’t that pretty much estabalished at Eastern, in Jones Hall? I always assumed that the marriage was just a Tom Cruise-like sham that no one else really believes but that you, like Mr. Cruise, convinced yourself that everyone buys. Oops. Did I ruin it for you? Sorry.

    My point about Havana being archtypically (is that even a word?) for men is because it is a love story in which the man and woman do NOT end up together, that it is somehow a romantic notion for men to be alone, without their “great love” etc etc. Something like that, anyway.

Leave a Reply

