Detroit Denied!

So goes the headline on the Detroit Free Press this morning. Dag!

It was a pretty cool game. Very exciting. It would have been a great game if The Wings had won, the game and the series and the cup AGAIN BABY! But it just didn’t happen. I didn’t stay up to watch. Went to bed just as the first overtime was beginning. What can I say? I’m not a diehard fan.

Wicked moment in the game that I did see: Penguin player screening Osgood gets taken out by a slapshot on the goal. And when I say “taken out,” I mean just that. Dude was sandwiched between two Wings players and it looked like he’d been shot, he went down so fast. Blood was pouring from his nose. But the dude got up damn quick for someone who got nailed in the face with a rocketing puck. Dag!

Detroit may have been denied but they are far from done. Last time a team came back from a 3-1 deficit to win the Stanley Cup was in 1942, the Toronto Maple Leafs. In fact, I think they were the only team to ever do it. So, we got that going for us.

I’m not actually a walking Hockey trivia and stats machine. I just remembered that from last night and wanted to trot it out to make it seem like I know what the hell I’m talking about.

Woo hoo! Go wings!

 

Leave a Reply

