Have you ever declared email bankruptcy?

Heard and interesting report on NPR this morning about the deluge of emails that many people have to deal with on a daily basis. Apparently it is prompting people to declare “email bankruptcy” and simply deleting everything in their email box and starting fresh.

I’m wondering how common this sort of thing is. I’ve never done it but then I don’t get that many emails. My wife on the other hand gets inundated with emails at work. She checks her email when she gets home from work, after a drive that can range from 30 minutes to over an hour, depending on traffic and weather etc. And she needs to check email throughout the weekend too. Also when on vacation. Ignoring email doesn’t seem to be worth it, since you’ll just be overwhelmed upon returing to the office.

Of course, in a previous work life I had to deal with a lot of emails. It was one of many, many, many reasons that I was to eventually part ways with that corporate entity. I never went so far at to delcare email bankruptcy but was tempted to more than a few times. I was known to simply ignore emails, allowing them just sort of get lost in the fray. Of course, that meant I’d regularly deal with the inevitable “Hey, did you get my email” comments from co-workers. To which I would reply with a shrug or simply, “No, I don’t remember getting that” or “I may have but don’t really recall.” I was, as you can imagine, considered less than a model employee and co-worker. Apparently, a John Bender-like attituded of “The world is an imperfect place. Screws fall out all the time” in this case replacing screws with emails and replacing “fall out” with “get overlooked” is not really appreciated under such circumstances. Who knew?

Still, there has to be something pretty satisfying in just wiping out your email box and starting fresh.

Leave a Reply

