I am a bicycle commuter slacker

Returning from my road trip to Iowa I was looking forward to getting back on my bike. On Wed after dinner I went for a ride that lasted about an hour. Not much by some rider’s standards, but a big deal for me. I found a slight different route too, which was cool. An interesting little back road. I was extra motivated to do this ride after a physical which resulted in my doc suggesting that I get some exercise, lose a little weight and try to lay off the sweets. Not a surprise.

He also recommended that I eat sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes. And brown rice instead of white rice. Also, if I like fruit I should stick with apples, oranges and bananas and stay away from peaches, plums and melons, becuse of the sugar.

So I’ve been trying to do that. As well as taking my coffee black, which also cuts down on how much coffee I actually drink since without cream and sugare I don’t much care for the tatse.

But I digress. I guess my hour-long ride the other night wore me out a little because I could not muster the energy to ride my bike to work, which was a bummer. It was a nice morning for a ride. Not hot. And it rained last night so the world was still a little damp but not soaking wet, and there was that nice after rain scent in the air. Perhap I will latch on the ride along tonight and go for a ride with my daughter.

Leave a Reply

