Iowa Road trip pics – Indiana Rest Area

I like silos – the corn and wheat kind, not the nuclear missal end of the world kind. Those suck!

Rest area just in Indiana. I took the pic of corn/grain silo from this rest area. I’ve always like rest areas, ever since I was a kid. It was one of my favorite parts of family trips to West Virginia. But then I liked almost everything about long distance trips in the car. They were exciting and I guess kind of romantic to me, then and now. And rest areas were curious to me because it was a place where all the anonymous people in their cars on the highway could converge. And when I was a kid people often talked to each other, my dad would sometimes anyway, chatting with other men driving their families along the interstates.

I once had an idea for a story that was set at rest area but as with mot of my ideas I never wrote it. I think I recently ran across a short novel or perhaps story collection or something that was entitled Rest Area. So there goes that idea.

The resident squirrels and chipmunks at this rest area had gnawed a hole in this garbage can lip to gain get food. They’ll probably all end up with high blood pressure and other related heart disease.

These little purple wild flowers were in abundance, not only at this rest area but along the interstate as well.

Well, thank you very much. It’s good to be here. So where are you all from and what do you do for a living?

Leave a Reply

