John Cusak interview in Mother Jones Magazine

I don’t normally pick up Mother Jones Magazine, but I’m glad that I did for the July + August 2008 issue, because there is an interview with GenX actor John Cusak, and he talks about his most recent movie, War, Inc, which I missed at theaters and apparently am going to have to wait until August for it be released on DVD. Why the delay, I have not a clue.

The interviewer, Clare Jeffery, is GenXer, age 40, same as me, and I thought was kind of cool.

Check the interview blurb:

Interview: The former Lloyd Dobler banters with MoJo editor Clara Jeffery about his movie War, Inc., her inner 16-year-old, and what it’s like to still be Gen X’s favorite antihero heartthrob.

And her’s the part that addresses Cusak’s GenX-ness:

MJ: Yeah, I’ve been watching you since then; we’re basically the same age. Speaking of which: Perhaps more than any actor, you symbolize the angst and ambivalence of our generation, Generation X. In many roles you’ve turned to the camera and given an almost pop-Hamlet speech, weighing whether or not to act. Does that kind of role appeal to you? Or is it typecasting?

JC: I guess it’s a modernity thing, right? And probably something about being an artist, feeling like you’re not a part of the pack. There’s also some element of coming of age during the Reagan administration, which everybody has painted as some glorious time in America, but I remember as being a very, very dark time. There was apocalypse in the air; the punk rock movement made sense. I mean, that’s the political answer to the question.

2 responses to “John Cusak interview in Mother Jones Magazine

Leave a Reply

