What you don’t know you know

The subject of This American life this week is Life after Death. On my way home from the grocery story I caught the story about the guy who, when he was 18, accidentally hit a girl on a bike with his car, and that girl died. He charts the effect the experience had on his life over the years and he’d wish for the girl had things turned out differently, had he swerved a different way, rolled his car as the investigators told him he sure would have, and died, mainly for her to forget, to not be haunted by the event. It was a very captivating story, one of those ones that I sat in my car in the driveway to finish listening to.

Anyway. It got me thinking if it was possible, if you met someone like this guy, would it be possible to know this thing about him without knowing you knew it. To sense it at some level. I’m not necessarily talking about someone with extra human abilities or anything like that. Just the right person meeting this guy and somehow knowing without being told, or “getting it” at some level. To be able to say in some way that I know it is about him, I just don’t know what it is. Does that make sense? Can it?

I don’t know. I just feel as if there’s been times when I’ve met a person I’ve felt like I could say, I get what it is about that person that makes them the way they are, I just can’t tell you what it is.

I think I may be suffering from low blood sugar.

Leave a Reply

