Hollywood’s dimming stars

In keeping with my interest in not-so-famous, not-so-famous-anymore and never-really-was-all-that-famous-to-begin-with actors and such, check this video from slate.com taken during a visit a Hollywood Collectors Show.

Of the now “D-List” celebs featured in this video, I’ve met Lou Ferrigno, aka The Incredible Hulk, from the 70s TV series not the recent movies. At The Italian Heritage Festival held annually in Clarksburg, West Virginia, where my parents are from and where I still have relatives. Lou was the celebrity dago that year. Another year I shook Joe Dimaggio’s hand, but I was too young to know who he was. When my dad asked me if I knew who he was, I said, “Yeah. That’s the Mr. Coffee guy.”

I have never met Ami Dolenz, daughter of Mickey Dolenz of The Monkees, but man would I like to. Has she got some serious hooters or what? I have seen the movies Ticks. So bad it was cool! Although IMDB list it under the title of Infested. Actually she look like she’s had a pretty descent career. She was in Can’t Buy Me Love, another cool 80s Teen Angst film. Not twisted like Heathers. Very romantic, though. How could it not be, staring the teenage Patrick Dempsey, aka McDreamy. Ami played Fran, but I’m not exactly sure who that was. I’ve have to see it again. I should anyway. Dolenz also played Sloan in the TV version of Ferris Bueller. And this year she has two movies coming out: 1) 2012 Doomsday ; and 2) Room and Board.

2 responses to “Hollywood’s dimming stars

  1. I always thought Ami Dolenz was adorable, a true pretty. She was also the star of “She’s Out of Control” with Tony Danza, another angsty-type movie, but for the younger set (maybe even rated G or PG?).
    In “Can’t Buy Me Love,” she’s the girl who worships Amanda Petersen’s character and compliments her white suede outfit at the party, right before it gets ruined.

  2. Ah, I think I remember her in Can’t Buy Me Love now. Thanks, Amanda.

    I need to see She’s Out of Control again too.

    Man, wouldn’t it be cool to start an 80s movie club? We could get a group of people together to watch an 80s movie and then wax nostalgic about those bygone days of big hair done up with Aqua “Rock” Net hairspray and jelly bracelets, leg warmers, and really heavy black eyeliner for guys and girls.

Leave a Reply

