Does anyone else feel burned out on this election?

I can’t be the only one. Surely.

At first, I thought it was just the beginning of a cold. Some people at my work have been sick and I figured I’d caught the bug. It’s about that time of the year, right. But it soon became clear that I hadn’t contracted an early incarnation of the flu. It is just fatigue.

I think it really set in over the weekend when I was yet again contacted by the Obama campaign to volunteer for the final push leading up to the election. I got suckered into giving up my email and phone number when I went in to buy a couple of lawns signs, even though in terms of helping out a campaign they’re virtually pointless, at the local Obama office. I told them that they absolutely did NOT want me knocking on doors and making phone. And, that I couldn’t really take off time from work, which was bs, but hey, it’s a free fucking country and I don’t have to be political active if I don’t wanna. I’m voting for the dude. Ain’t that enough? Anyhoo… I agreed to bring in bagels and OJ on the morning of the election. I figured it was the least I could do for what seemed to be mostly young people, which really impressed me. And you know, never let it be said that I didn’t do the least that I could. I think that’s pretty much the Generation X slogan, ain’t it? So of course now these people are calling and emailing and none of them really seems to listen to me when I try to explain what I will and will not do. The last call was at 10 at night, after we were in bed. So. I’m done. No bagels and definitely no GOTV, as they liked to say. I’ll never make that mistake again.

Anyway, ever since I have been feeling well. I’m tired and I’ve got a persistent low-grade headache that will not go away. I try to tap some hidden reserves of enthusiasm but I just want this thing to be over with already.

Don’t get me wrong. I want Obama to win. And I will vote for him come hell or hight water. I know this isn’t New Orleans. It’s just an expression for crying out loud. But just in case, I’ve left instructions, in the event of my untimely demise, for my vote to be cast.

Maybe I just need a good nights rest for a change. That’s another thing. I seem to have a hard time sleeping. The closer we get to the election the more restless I become.

And don’t get me started on these fucking polls that have Obama up like fucking 10 pts in Indiana. 10 pts! In fucking Indiana? There’s no fucking way!

I would so never cut it in the real political world. Which is why I don’t get involved that way.

5 responses to “Does anyone else feel burned out on this election?

  1. I heard the most asanine interview with someone on NPR today – not even sure what it was – it was on Fresh Air with Terri/y ? Gross. This idiot was going off about how Blacks were going to start pushing whites off the sidewalk when Obama gets elected. Suffice to say, we are all worn out. I wonder if voter turn out is going to reflect the fatigue.

  2. I’ll say. You don’t even bother to capitalize. I’m surprised you haven’t taken steps to remove the second letter “l” from your name, just so you won’t have to bother writing it twice.

    Spoken like a true GenXer, Neill.

  3. Amen. I remember driving to school about a million years ago listening to Hillary on NPR talking about throwing her hat into the ring. I thought then, and I think now, that this was going to be a long road. I can’t wait until the ads about Knollenberg’s inhumane treatment of animals and Peter’s risky health care gamble are replaced with decent ads for feminine hygiene products and sugar cereals. Viva Consumer!

  4. Pingback: Could there be a hidden X effect? « junkdrawer67

Leave a Reply

