What the hell happened to Fall?

I mean, yeah, the leaves turned and fell and it was all oooh, aaah pretty and all that, but come on. Halloween was like 70 freaking degrees and a little more than a week later it’s snowing. What’s that all about?

It means one thing, for sure, that I probably missed my best chance to rake leaves. I hate raking leaves. One of the big reasons why, when I was younger, before I was a parent, that I never wanted to own a house. Cleaning gutters sucks too, something else that needs to be done. Plus, we got this skunk that likes to scent around our house and man it just creep inside and take days and burning multiple candles down to nothing to get rid of it.

Also, I missed my chance yet again, to plant tulip bulbs. Screw the pooch on that one again.

But there is one cool thing about the snow. Last night I was watching it fall through our front picture window. We have a street lamp on our corners and the snow coming down through that cone of light makes a nice image. Reminds of when my daughter was younger. I got up in the middle of the night and looked in on her and found her bed empty. Of course, I freaked more than a little. She was only about 3 and if she did get out of bed she’d come straight to our room. I hurried down the hallway to the living room and found her lying on the couch. She’d climbed up and was snuggled under her Dora blanky, looking out the window. It was snowing. When I asked he what she was doing, she just turned to me and said, “Daddy. I’m looking at the light.”

“Yeah,” I said. “I can see that.” Then I lay down on the couch with her and we watched the light and snow together, eventually falling asleep.

One of the best moments I’ve ever had with my daughter, who is not almost 8 and growing up way too fast.

One response to “What the hell happened to Fall?

Leave a Reply

