We need to talk….

I guess you’ve noticed that I haven’t been around much lately, WordPress blog. There’s a reason for that. I’ve been spending a lot of time on Facebook lately. At first, I thought it was just a harmless flirtation, but now I realize that it much more serious than that. Look, I didn’t mean for this to happen. It just did. And I’m sorry. Please forgive.

No, it’s not that Facebook is better than you are, WordPress. Don’t be silly. You’re great. Really great. I care about you a lot. It’s just that, well, Facebook is…I don’t know how to describe it. I feel pretty crummy about this but I can’t go on living a lie. I need to be honest with you. I’d just rather be on Facebook. That’s all. It’s not a reflection on WordPress, which has been great. It’s just, well, things change. So I guess that’s what I’m saying. I’ve changed.

But hey, WordPress. I want you to know that I’m still here for you. Anytime you need me. I’ll still post if you want me to. You know I love posting with you. It’s great. It’s always be great. Mindblowing really. I mean, hell… Well, you know what I mean. If it wasn’t great I wouldn’t have stuck around as long as I have. That sounds bad, I know, but…. What I really mean is that if I didn’t care I wouldn’t be telling you these things. I’d just, you know, bolt. I’d run away. Because, you know me, that’s what I do. I can’t deal with that Big Conversations. But I can’t do that anymore. I just can’t keep running from what thing to another. It’s time to grow up.

So…. does anyone else feel like this has gone on too long. Yeah, sorry.

I just realized that I haven’t posted in awhile, not since before Christmas. I did get some kudos on that post, though. It was about the dark side of the Christmas move, It’s A Wonderful Life. I was quite proud of it myself, actually.

Anyhoo… I thought it was high time I got back to my blog. So here I am — don’t judge me, love me!

It’s true, though I have been spending a lot of time on Facebook lately. I resisted getting on it for a long time. It seemed silly, I guess. I thought of Facebook as largely a Millennial social networking thing, and that my presence on it would be at least slightly creepy. But apparently that is now so — not that I’m not at least slightly creepy, because I am, but that Facebook is mainly utilized by the Millennial gang.

I don’t know if GenX has only recently discovered Facebook, but it seemed that way to me, at least for myself and GenXers that I know. But that’s hardly a representative example. In any case, I find Facebook to be very agreeable to a certain kind of GenX personality, and that is for those of us who enjoy connecting with people but are often reticent about it. I know I am, and I had a chat, ironically enough at a social gathering with another GenXer (who I don’t think is much vested in the GenX ethos, which is also ironic in a way, but cool) about our shared social anxiety, how we both kind of get uptight about attending such functions but usually ultimately end up enjoying ourselves. This phenomenon (if I can call it that, which I just did, so whatever) I think is best — what? — illustrated? defined? represented? I don’t know, I just thought the part in Clerks where Randall and Dante are discussing attending the funeral of a girl they went to high school with, and whom Dante once had sex with, gets at what I mean pretty well. Dante expects Randall to stay behind and watch the store so that he, Dante, can go, but Randall wants to go as well:

DANTE
		You've gotta watch the store. I
		have to go to this.

				RANDAL
		Wait, wait, wait. Has it occurred
		to you that I might bereaved as well?

				DANTE
		You hardly knew her!

				RANDAL
		True, but do you know how many
		people are going to be there? All
		of our old classmates, to say the
		least.

				DANTE
		Stop it. This is beneath even you.

				RANDAL
		I'm not missing what's probably
		going to be the social event of the
		season.

				DANTE
		You hate people.

				RANDAL
		But I love gatherings. Isn't it
		ironic?

That about sums it up for me.

4 responses to “We need to talk….

  1. TRAITOR! A regular Benedict Arnold. Ha!

    I’m on Facebook from time to time. All those connections wear me out, though. The jury is out for me. But, I do like it. I just don’t know how much emotional energy I have to stay connected with 200 people from my distant past. It seems more productive to reinvent myself with strangers than constantly relate as the former young college girl or worse, a 14-year-old. I like catching up, but…you know.

    That wonderful life post – was, well, wonderful. Ha! I’ve thought about it alot and run some thoughts by all the people over the holidays – who told me it was their favorite. People amaze me.

  2. I guess that I’m still sort of new to facebook so I’m really getting a kick out of it, but I could see how it could become burdensome. I could see myself tuning out at times. Sort of the way I did with my blog here. Although that isn’t really the same thing.

  3. Once Jennifer K popcorn in my bra get our blog up for the Gen X essays, i’d like to cross post your wonderful life essay. of course, we’ll put links to all the essaying-bloggers (ha!) blogs. LMK, K? hahahaha I’m getting really good at txt since i have an 11 year old. just wait.

  4. Sounds great, Jen. Please keep me posted.

    I haven’t yet upgraded to texting to my blog. But then I haven’t really been blogging much these days. Got a lot going on but won’t get into the details.

    Also, didn’t you mention some idea about essays by GenX dad or parents or something like that? I seem to recall that anyway but my memory is not what it used to be. I’m GenX at 41 — Ugh!

    Anyway, I’ve been kicking around this idea to write about. Not so much anymore, but particularly when my daughter was young, I’d often have Zombie nightmares, that they were attacking my house and I had to protect my family. Despite the corniness of it they were incredibly frightening, seeming very real in the moment.

Leave a Reply

