The New Deal

And by that I do NOT, I repeat DO NOT mean FDR’s New Deal. Nor do I mean Obama’s version of FDR’s New Deal.

I mean, of course, the new deal with this, my blog.  Because after a brief hiatus, and certain life-changing events, it seems appropriate that the focus of my blog shift to some degree.

I started this blog with the encouragement of a friend (so if you’re looking for someone to blame for the bloviating garbage that gets spewed out her, blame John [last name withheld to protect said friend, and to save me from culpability in the event of his untimely demise, not to mention a fraking law suit]), who no doubt did so because  he was fed up with my rambling, obnoxious emails. Also, I sent him strings from other blogs on which I got into ugly flame wars with other posters. He read those and was like, dude, you are definitely blogger material, not to mention an incredible jerk. I beamed with obnoxious pride!

At some point I started focusing on the Presidential Campaign, beginning with the Dem. Primary and then, once Obama whopped on Hilary, the General Election. After Obama won I kind of ran out of gas and decided to take a break, I guess.  Anyway, it was the Holiday Season and I wanted to enjoy it.

Turned out this Holiday wasn’t all that happy. No sense mincing words. The gist of the matter is my wife and I are separating. I’m hesitant to even write that down in such a forum as this blog. First, because I can’t help thinking who really cares. Not that I don’t think people aren’t compassionate and sensitive about such things. I’ve learned very well that they are. But still, is this something to  blog about? I guess I’ll find out.

But let me be clear. I do not, I repeat DO NOT, intend for this to be a forum to air grievances, petty, legit or otherwise. I just don’t want to engage in that kind of crap. Maybe if I were a Millennial that just assumes that everyone everywhere is interested in every last detail of my existence I would. Or if I were a self-absorbed, self-aggrandizing, self-obsessed Baby Boomer type that is convinced that the rest of world can only benefit from the wisdom of their experience blah blah blah I would. But I am neither. I’m a GenXer (and fucking glad to be btw) and really the very idea of exposing too much of my personal self online like that seems, well, lame, not to mention dangerous in some way, though I’m not exactly sure how. It’s just a gut feeling I have, which I hope is more in tune than W’s was because that dude totally fucked shit up, I mean…whoa, sorry, I’m off politics now…for the most part anyway.

No. What I want to focus on is how my wife (we are still married) and I and my daughter are — how do I put it? — reformulating our family. That seems more interesting to me anyway.  Maybe it won’t to other. Frank, my dear, I don’t give a shit ( I know the quote is “damn” but I like “shit” better; it’s got more, I don’t know, bite).

Why do I want to do this? I’ve been asking myself that for some time now. And I guess I have to say that I’m not exactly sure that I do. I may cop out on this tomorrow. I just don’t know yet. But I’ve got an inkling that there might be something worth writing about here, something more than the typical idea of separation. I’m not sure exactly what it is. And I may be complete wrong, but I’m going to scratch the itch and see what happens.

10 responses to “The New Deal

  1. You get back into blogging and the first thing out of the gate is to blame me? Oh, you’ll get a frakking lawsuit. With two K’s, mind you. My lawyer is Dutch. Or something. Caprican?

    But welcome back. I guess. 😉

    By the way, I have a new-found distaste for boomers. Well, one particular boomer. Talk about imparting their glorious wisdom on us. Dear Lord save us from the “wise” boomers.

    I’d much rather be frakking that devious Boomer — the toaster — on BSG.

    Anyway, now all we have to do is either get you back onto Twitter or get you to rant insanely about how stupid Twitter is. Seems like those are the only two reactions available.

    See ya round the ‘sphere!

    • A new found distaste? Where the hell have you been anyway? 😉

      That’s just like you, John, to sick your Dutch lawyer on.

      Right now I’m in pretty deep with facebook. But you never know, the romance might fade. And then twitter here I come. But I make no promises.

  2. I don’t know if it helps or not, but I:

    1. Totally care about what you’re going through.

    2. Look forward to reading your thoughts and perspective about reformulating the family – you are great fun to read and very insightful.

    3. Understand about creating a new direction for a blog – I started off as an existential constructivist and now I talk mostly about trying to squeeze into my Mom jeans. Is there really a market for another whiny Mom?

    4. For me, writing all this shit out is helping me make sense of the new world, the new deal. So I’ll just go ahead and project my feelings onto you. Isn’t it ultimately about self discovery and actualization?

    5. “Shit” totally works instead of “damn” in this instance.

  3. Thanks, Jaime!

    It does help. Very much so. I appreciate your support and feedback. And I totally dig your blog. Maybe there isn’t room for “another whiny” mom but that’s not you. You writing is so fun and witty, and your insights so sharp and spot on. Keep it up. I’m convinced that someone, some day is going to offer you a book deal, or something like it.

  4. I definitely think there is something here to write about. It’s going to be all about navigating this situation with the perspective of being a Gen Xer and for some of us having past ‘How Not To’ experiences to draw upon. I’ll be stopping by occasionally to make sure you haven’t disparaged my impeccable reputation. 😉

  5. For those of you who do not know, Colleen is my wife. And she’ll be chiming in from time to time, just to keep me walking the straight and narrow, not small feet. Love you, baby!

  6. hey – head’s up – this guy stole one of my posts, so i checked another one of his. And guess who came up in google as writing it a day earlier? You did.

    It’s this post – http://thoughtsaboutnotes.blogspot.com/2009/03/new-deal.html#comments

    i can’t leave a comment about what a prick he is without joining google but I complained to blogspot about it at http://help.blogger.com/?page=troubleshooter.cs&problem=&ItemType=impersonation&contact_type=impersonation&Submit=Continue&blog_ID=&blog_URL=

  7. Hey. Thanks, Stinginthetail —

    That’s pretty creepy. Why would someone steal your post, and try to pawn it off as their own? I mean, I don’t get it.

    Not sure what to do about it. But I’d ask anyone who visits my blog and has a moment to go to the post and ask the dude why he’s ripping people of. Or at least call him a asshole. I don’t know.

  8. it’s called plagiarism, sonnypi – they steal your words to make themselves look better.

    please complain to blogspot (even an email to abuse@blogspot.com if you don’t want to use the other complaint form) – and yes, tell your friends to tell the guy he’s a tosser, lol

  9. I am aware of what plagiarism is. I guess I’m just boggled as to why someone would? Anyway, thanks for the email address. I’ll definitely complain.

Leave a Reply

