possible relocation destinations

California was at the top of our list but the economic problems there are just as bad if not worse than here in Michigan.

July 2, 2009 | The world’s eighth-largest economy has just gone belly-up. When midnight tolled on Tuesday night with legislators and Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger still deadlocked over how to resolve the state’s staggering $24 billion budget shortfall, California became unable to pay its bills. The state will have to begin issuing IOUs to its creditors as early as Thursday. It is the worst budget crisis in the state’s modern history.

Read full salon.com story here.

So now Austin, Texas is looking better and better all the time. US News and World Report recently touted it as one of the top 10 cities to live in, along with Boise, Idaho and Albuquerque, NM:

If you’re a free spirit, music junkie, or barbecue lover—or if you simply have what it takes to “keep Austin weird”—Texas’s state capital is for you.

Sounds pretty damn cool to me. Although I understand it gets quite hot there. And there is the issue of possible hurricanes. But perhaps some high winds, uprooted trees, and major flooding would be a nice change of pace from the snow and cold. I’ve pretty  much had it with shoveling snow that’s for sure.

Then there is the Research Triangle in North Carolina, which is attractive b/c of the field C works in. And, I hear it’s nice. Plus I know a few people who already live down there. Would have to do more research, though.

Portland,  OR has come up at times, but not sure C would like the rain. I don’t mind rain, but I don’t want to be wet all the time either. Big on bicycling there, though, and that’s a plus for me. But really I’m an amateur bicyclist at best, which reminds me I need to take my bike into the shop to get the rear wheel trued.

Colorado would be nice. Sure it gets cold and plenty of snow, but it’s sunny. And we could always get a snowblower. I’ve never owned one.

C mentioned Boston the other week. I was surprised, b/c of the cold factor. But it’s a big city, and very cool one at that so she’d be willing to at least try to live with the trade off.

NYC? We’ve never really discussed that as on option. Probably too expensive. And seems a bit too daunting to me.

Nowhere else in the south other than NC holds much interest. And neither of us are interested in living in Florida — nice place to  vacation for maybe a week but don’t want to take up permanent residence there. If Michigan is too cold in winter, Florida is too hot an balmy in summer. Ick!

Of course, we’re open to suggesions.

5 responses to “possible relocation destinations

  1. You’re lucky to have so many options. Austin gets pretty blistering hot, and the congestion seems to only get worse no matter how many new highways they build, but it is a great city. And, it seems like everyone I’ve ever known from there swore by it.

    OKC was named the happiest place to live last year. And, the most recession-proof city by Forbes. We have four distinct seasons here and all four are quite dramatic in their own way. But, it all comes down to finding a great job and how much tolerance you have for things you can’t stand – b/c every city has them.

    Good luck!

  2. My vote is for Portland, OR, but you do need to accept the dreary weather in winter. As for biking – it’s not just recreational biking that is popular here, it is a form of transportation! Our family of four was car-free in Portland for 3 years (we are temporarily in Sacramento until June 2010 and have a car right now). Portland is a great place to live and raise kids.

    Dave

    • I agree, Dave. Portland does sound like a great place to live and raise a family. I’d done some reading on the biking culture there — didn’t Portland recently rise the ranks of friendly bicycling cities in the word, to 2nd? I’d love to be able to function without a car, or at least with very minimal car use. In the end, though, I think the weather, especially in winter will be hard to get past. It’s more my wife than me — she’s sick of the Michigan winters especially. But I’ll admit, I’d like to live some place where it is mostly warm and sunny, which is why California would be where we’d really like to relocate to. If it wasn’t for the damn economy there.

      More and more it’s looking like Austin, Texas. Although North Carolina has come into the conversation recently again.

      • @sonnypi67 – The winters in Portland are nothing like those in Michigan. It is mild and cool with a regular drizzle. I bike in it quite often, and run in it year-round (when I am there). Austin is cool (except in summer). I have friends that swear by NC (I am consulting for a company down there right now). You can’t make a bad choice amongst that group!

  3. Of course, I would have been surprised to learn that Portland winters were even close to those in Michigan. And it isn’t the snow, because we’ve also discussed Colorado, as I think I indicated in my original post. In Michigan, it is gray overcast, which can be relentless, combined with the chilling cold and snow. January and February can be particularly bleak.

    Mild and cool with a regular drizzle doesn’t sound bad at all. I actually enjoy rain, up to a point. I certainly don’t mind biking in it. In fact, I’ve purposely gone out on bike rides in the rain.

    More than a few sources now have confirmed that Austin can be quite hot in the summer. Not exactly sure how we’d fair in that sort of climate. In Michigan, it is the heat combined with the humidity that is so hard to take.

    We too have heard good things about NC.

Leave a Reply

