Another GenXer bites the dust

This time a younger one.

Brittany Murphy at the age of 32. That’s my wife’s age. Yikes!

Of course, Brits got her start in the movie Clueless, directed by Amy Heckerling the creator of one of the all time great GenX flicks, Fast Time at   Ridgemont High, which launched the career of Sean Penn and laid bare a side of Phoebe Cates for which I an countless other GenX guys will be forever grateful.

She was also in 8 Mile with Eminem, which is about my old stomping grounds.  In fact, I grew up less than a mile from the trailer park where they shot some of the scenes for 8 Mile. I used to ride my BMX bike through that trailer park to get to the one next to it becase my buddy Rick lived there.

Repots are saying that Murphy died of cardiac arrest, which of course sounds like perhaps an eating disorder (she’d gotten really thin) and/or drugs. Wow! Shocker.

I swear I’m trying to think of something else to say but I’m drawing a blank. I didn’t dislike Brits but wasn’t a huge fan either. I was, however, a fan of some of the movies she was in — Clueless, 8 Mile, Sin City.

RIP Brits.

NEXT!

2 responses to “Another GenXer bites the dust

  1. have you heard of this blog – john hughes is dead? the guy who started saw all this coming, huh?

    very sad to hear about someone so young. she was in one movie i liked, but i can’t think of what it was – like an older sister or nanny to a little kid??

  2. I have not heard of that blog. Sounds interesting, though. Will have to check it out.

    I know the movie of which you speak, Jen. But like you I cannot summon the title.

Leave a Reply

