GenX parents are noble

Well. I’m a GenX parent but I never thought of myself as being noble. But apparently some dude name Tim Daniel sees it that way:

Pursuit of Nobility author, Tim Daniel recently announced that he was renaming Generation X the Noble Generation. He’s taken his explanation one step further with a new assertion: Generation X parenting is noble parenting.

But what does Daniel mean by noble parenting?

Daniel believes that it will be up to Gen X parents to double-parent. You might think he means that both parents will be active in the lives of their children. But that isn’t what he means when he talks about double-parenting. Daniel says that Gen X will not only be responsible for raising their children and equipping them to thrive in the world, but also, Gen X will be responsible for giving birth and raising a new future for their children to inhabit.

Interesting. Seems accurate to me. Although I’m just not sure I’m comfortable with being called noble. Something about the term seems too, I don’t know… Boomer I guess. Also, I don’t feel noble being a parent. I just feel like it’s what I’m supposed to do.

What do you think?

Read rest of post here.

3 responses to “GenX parents are noble

  1. Sorry to be so cynical, but the Tim Daniel post comes off to me mainly as a self-serving press release to promote his book. (There’s also a really awkward phrase I stumbled across several times until I figured out what the writer meant: “responsible for giving birth and raising a new future….” I think he meant giving birth to and raising a new future. Of course Gen-X parents “give birth.”)

    “Noble parenting” strikes me as a typically contemporary, feel-good platitude that has no real meaning. Likewise, “new future” is a silly, meaningless phrase–the future is always new, by definition. And, assuming the writer was sincere, doesn’t every generation express essentially the same sentiment? “I want better things for my kids … I don’t want my kids to go through what I had to go through … you’re going to be the first in our family to go to college … better living through chemistry … etc.?”

    I also agree with your view, Chris, on the strangely grandiose idea of bestowing “nobility” on the act of parenting. Is good, conscientious parenting the kind of thing we ought to hold up as exceptional? It seems to me that just about everything that comes, or ought to come, under the original writer’s umbrella of nobility is simply a matter of morality, ethics, and responsibility–for parents and non-parents alike. I have a nagging feeling that this notion of parental “nobility” is closely tied to feelings of entitlement and unrealistically inflated self-worth: the Overpraised Generation. Jesus, just be a good parent, and forget about earning gold stars; it seems evident to me, even as a non-parent, that this has its own ample rewards.

    • Please. Be as cynical as you like. I’ve certainly got no problem with it. I don’t know when cynicism got such a bad rap anyway. Probably about the time Reagan became president — all that shining city on the hill malarky.

      In fact, I’d submit that what most people call cynicism is actually being realistic. It’s a ploy by the happy happy joy joy crowd to make outcast of realists. So no one can harsh their good mood, man!

      Anyhoo… just to get back on topic. It is very true that being a good parent is its own reward. Anyone looking for “gold stars” is not really putting their kids interests first anyway.

  2. I think it’s wishful thinking. But I’m rather pessimistic about humanity, in general. I think he’s right about the need for such “double-parenting”, given the dark and looming possibilities on the horizon. I don’t think my generation will stand up to it any better than any previous generation. Nope, it’s desperation, decline and degradation for us all, I’m afraid!

Leave a Reply

