I haven’t posted in awhile

Why?

Well, turns out that getting divorced has proven to be more difficult than I could have ever imagined. It’s sapped me of my of a lot of my enthusiasm. Not all. But most. And the longer I went without posting the harder it was to sit down and do it. I don’t know.

So is this my come back? I have not a fucking clue. May be that I’m just super bored tonight and needed something to break the tedium, to occupy myself while I sit here alone in my half-empty one-bedroom apartment. Or, maybe I’m finally emerging from my hibernation or whatever you want to call it, and I’ll be blasting out posts pretty regularly from now on. Maybe, but I wouldn’t bet on it.

There’s something about this time of year, just as it’s getting cold and the first snowfall of the year occurs. It reminds me of my more optimistic days, when I was a student at Eastern, sitting in my dorm, reading a paperback, and still firm in my belief that I would be a writer some day, a real writer, a novelist or short story writer, the Hemingway of my generation.

I guess that’s why I recently picked up my copy of “Bright Lights, Big City” read it again. It was the book that really made me want to be a writer. It was my permission book, the one that showed me that I could write about the experiences that I thought were relevant because they were my experiences.

It’s funny, you know. Bright Lights isn’t a very thick  novel. It’s not very complex either. But each time I read it — and I’ve read it a number of times, so many that I’ve lost count — I seem to find something new in it, see it in a different way. When I first read it it was the partying and bar-hopping and drug use that really struck me, because it reflected experience that I was familiar with. I graduated in 1986 and spent my early twenties in the late 80s. But this time it was the character’s heartbreak that really impressed me, that I connected with. I never really understood it before. But I do now. I really understand it. Unfortunately…

And like the last line of the novel reads, I, like the narrator, feel as if I need to learn everything all over again.

4 responses to “I haven’t posted in awhile

  1. Hey, Chris–Good to see you back in the blog saddle. As for being the “Hemingway of my generation” … well, look how he ended up. The truth is, there will be no more Hemingways, or Beethovens, or Picassos. Sorry to seem pessimistic or cynical, but our civilization just doesn’t produce, let alone foster, the kinds of creative geniuses that it used to. We have to take what we can get. But every once in a while, an Annie Proulx or a Paul Thomas Anderson will bob to the surface in a sickly ocean of banal tweets and reality TV, and things don’t seem as bleak. As for your own writing, just do it, write as well as you can, and make it real, and you’ll be ahead of 99% of the “writers” out there.

  2. Count me in as glad you’re back. We’ve all had our reasons for stopping what we love. Keep throwing stuff out here, there are readers waiting to catch it.

Leave a Reply

