Too good to be true

Had a phone interview today. It went pretty well, I think. I was pretty excited about it. It was for a Jr. Editor position with a market research firm. I thought it would be a good way to get my foot in the door in marketing. Besides, editing is right up my alley, what with my English degrees and my editing experience. But then I found out that the position is only temporary contract. There’s a slight chance that it could become permanent later, but I think that chance is slim. I was disappointed to say the least. Still, I have to at least consider it. The pay rate would be higher than what I making now but there’s no benefits. Perhaps that is the nature of the new market. If I did take it it would be experience, if nothing else. And that’s nothing to sneeze at. I can’t help wondering how it would effect my unemployment. We’ll see. Won’t know if they’ll want me for a face-to-face interview until after 4th of July weekend. So there’s not point stressing about it right now. Instead, I can concentrate on enjoying this weekend, which my daughter and I  will be spending with my brother and his family in Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

