A wandering fate

Here is an article about a local homeless man. He spends a lot of time in the library where I work. It is a sad story, of course. Up until the age of 25 this man was living his life, and doing well. And then one day he was fired from his job for making a mistake with a client. One lousy mistake. Okay, maybe it was a big mistake. I don’t know. But still… And like that his life crumbled. He is now 31 years old, according to the article. I often wondered about him, how he ended up this way. Now I know.

Sometimes, when I wake in the gray morning light and I can’t get back to sleep I worry that this will be my fate as well, a lost soul wandering aimlessly, no home, no direction, no purpose. Sigh….

Leave a Reply

