Apparently the job market isn’t doing better

Earlier today I blogged about an article that reported that the economy and thus the job market was looking up. That put a little spring in my step this morning. Some encouraging news, right.

Yeah, well. Then I read this article from Salon.com and my optimism pretty much plummeted.  Apparently the government jobs report is not quite as rosy. Hell, it isn’t even close. Check this:

There is zero good news and a ton of terrible numbers in this report. The U.S. economy added only 18,000 jobs in June. May’s initial 54,000 gain was revised down to 25,000, while April’s 232,000 fell to 217,000. The topline unemployment measurement ticked up to 9.2 percent, but the U-6 number that gives the broadest measure of unemployment jumped from 15.8 to 16.2.

Holy crap! Talk about a difference in numbers. How does one report say we added some 157,000 jobs and another say we added only 18,000? Plus an uptick in unemployment. Where are these people getting their numbers? How can there be such a disparity? I just don’t get it. I really don’t.I mean, are they purposely fucking with people or what?

The spring in my step has turned into chest pains of anxiety. Ugh!

One response to “Apparently the job market isn’t doing better

  1. Whoa! I hadn’t seen those numbers…I blogged about the unemployment news today too. It’s so incredibly depressing! At least the cartoon I have up may give you a little chuckle.

Leave a Reply

