“thirtysomething”

I know, I know. I’m not thirtysomething. I’m fortysomething. I barely remember my thirtysomethings. But I do remember the show “thirtysomething”, which I have been watching  again recently. Well, not so much watching as listening to, on Hulu where all 4 seasons (85 one-hour episodes in all) are currently available while I’m  at work, because my job is so mundane and routine I need something to get me through the day. Of course, that won’t be a problem for long, will it now.

I’m actually watching/listening to an episode right now, although I’m not at work. Episode 19 of season 3. It’s the one where Hope, oh so  perfect Hope, is beginning to be attracted to this guy John that she’ s working with to kill a community trash incinerator. Of course, Michael is so into  his career at DAA, the advertising agency, he does not really notice what is going on.

Anyhoo… I remember really digging this show when it first aired in the 80s, even though it was about a bunch of whiny yuppy Boomers. But I don’t think I really understood it then. How could? I was in my early twenties. What did I know? Not like I do now, now that I’ve become a parent,have  been married, and am now divorced. It really hits home, sometimes a bit too sharply. But I can’t stop watching it.

In contrast, Generation X has it’s own mid-life TV show in Parenthood, which in some ways is a better show, but I’m probably biased.

4 responses to ““thirtysomething”

  1. Loved the show, but I was in my thirties when I watched it. Late thirties and forty. I never got the whining critique. What else do any of us do? I’ll check out HULU.

  2. The only thing I remember about this show is how Spy magazine made fun of it all the time. Also, the great SNL parody commercial for Thirtysomething cereal (“I’m eating an oat-bran Elliott!”) To be fair, it was a big step up for Timothy Busfield, who, previously, had been best-known as the violin-playing nerd in the Revenge of the Nerds franchise.

    • As much as I enjoyed it, it certainly was ripe for being ridiculed. It dripped middle-class suburban ennui, which is fine, sure, but sometimes you couldn’t help rolling your eyes at it. Maybe that’s just a GenXer response.

Leave a Reply

