Last Friday

Today is my last Friday at my job. Next week I work Monday and Tuesday and then I am a free bird…and this bird you cannot change…..fly–iiiiiiii freeee bird! 

Anyhoo… they had a party for me yesterday. I’ve blogged about t his previously, about how initially I wasn’t that hot on the idea but in the end I decided to acquiesce and allow it. It wasn’t so bad. There was pink punch and a card and a gift basket. There was a cake too. It had the Space Shuttle on it, because the party theme was that they were “launching” me off into the next phase of my life. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I did find it a tad ironic, however, considering that the government recently decided to cancel the space shuttle program. I pointed this out to much laughter, and of course it lead to a discussion of the two space shuttle explosions. Apparently, recently parts from the second space shuttle disaster were found in a lake in Texas. The lake’s water level had receded considerably, revealing the shuttle parts. I’m not sure what that has to do with anything. It’s just what happened.

Well, I should probably clean out my files and pack up my photographs and personal items today, so I don’t have that sad task to perform on my last day here.

2 responses to “Last Friday

  1. The space-shuttle cake thing … brilliant. It’s the kind of thing you couldn’t make up. If you don’t use it in a story someday, I’m going to.

Leave a Reply

