And the winner was….

Well. It seems that my last post actually garnered some attention — four likes and two comments, although one of the comments was mine, a reply to the one comment that I got. Anyhoo… it would seem worthwhile to continue in this  vein.

So…without further ado….

The dating site I selected, when I finally did decide to jump into the online dating pool — yahooooo! –, was eHarmony. Not very original, I realize. And I dropped the cash for a whole year too. Why? I do not know. I should have just gone for a couple of months to start. I must have been feeling uncharacteristically optimistic. And impulsive. And quite frankly a bit lazy, unwilling to do any proper research into the matter.

I did hedge my bets by also joining zoosk.com as well, but only for a month. I will come right out and say that I did not garner one date from zoosk and after my month was up I cancelled my subscription.

But back to eHarmony, which I did pay for. The first thing I noticed about it is how controlled the environment is. You cannot just browse other people’s profiles. You have to be matched based on the questions you answer – and there are a lot of questions to answer first, before you can even start checking people out. eHarmony tells you who your matches are. I didn’t and don’t like that very much.

The site rational seems to be that they intended to create a safe environment for all members, which is noble I suppose but it takes some of the excitement out of the whole process in my opinion. You can even make secure phone calls where you can talk on the phone to another person without ever divulging your phone, which I suppose is a good option considering some of the pyschos and fatal attractions out there just waiting to happen.

The other thing I noticed about eHarmony was how boring most of the profiles are. Of course, I can only speak to the women’s profiles, because that’s all I saw. No men. People don’t seem very daring or original in creating their profiles. Pity. Because there is plenty of potential for humor. That’s what I tired to do anyway. And I have been told that in comparison my profile is much more interesting and entertaining than most other men’s profiles, but that might have been just flattery, a way to get into my pants, you know.

It seems to me the most commonly listed trait by women is that they are positive, have a positive outlook on life, etc. It struck me, reading these profiles, that as with make-up and dressing, women create profiles that would more likely impress other women than they would impress men. Do they realize this? Do they care? Who knows?

I’d venture to guess that much of what women put on their profiles men are not all that interested in. I will admit that the first thing I do is check out a woman’s photos. I’m not looking for a super model or anything like that. Don’t get wrong, if a chick who looked like supermodel wanted to go out on a date with me I’d go, but I just want to see if I find them physically attractive, first. Then I start digging deeper.

Beyond physical attraction, what do I look for in a potential date?

Tune in tomorrow.

8 responses to “And the winner was….

  1. I think there will be many fun blog posts to come. I follow a woman who is frustrated with the process, but I don’t think she is using a legit site. I do like the idea that you are matched first. Good luck!! If you believe it will work for you, it will!

    • Thanks, Susie. Hope you stay tuned. It gets….more interesting, if not better, at last not in the immediate.

      Do you know what site the woman follows? There are a lot of them.

      I believe it can work. I know it has, for others. Whether it does or not for me, well, we’ll see.

      Only the shadow knows….mah ha ha ha ha ha…Unfortunately, I am not the shadow. If only….

  2. I would also not be so hung up on “physical” looks.. There may be some really awesome people you could pass over because they do not have 10 star looks. Know what I mean? Yeah, and dig deeper into those profiles.. I think you will have fun and find someone..I do:-)

    • I’m not hung up on physical looks. And I’m not looking necessarily for a 10 star. But there has to be something physical about the person that draws me in. I’ve known more than a few women who were compelling to me in every other way. They were not unattractive. They just didn’t hook me. I call/called them friends.

      I will and do dig deeper, trust me. And hope to post about it soon.

      Thanks 😉

Leave a Reply

